Organizing Your Home and Life

Mental Clutter

Posted on: June 24, 2009

Our lives are constantly filled with so much stuff, information and “to-do” lists.  It can get overwhelming at times.  I have found myself in this situation many times and even for a good organizer, it is a challenge in life.  One of the problems is mental clutter…that is, those “to-do”s or things in life that don’t bring us any value whatsoever.

What better time to reevaluate your mental clutter than NOW!  Here are a few tips I have provided in order to help you along.

1.  Keeping lists is great..in fact, I have many of them myself but be sure to really evaluate what is on that list to ensure it creates value.  Evaluate if the item on your list can be done by someone else (like your spouse or child).  I usually have a few lists going at one time.  I have a reminder list of things that are on my calendar.  I also have a short term goals list of things that I know I need to get done within a week.  I also have my medium range goals list of things that need to get done within a longer time frame.  Always reevaluate the lists and update and understand that they will never get completely done but as long as you are completing your activities you are fine.

2.  Computer time – it’s easy to get carried away on the computer playing games or surfing the web or on Facebook or other social networking sites. All of these things are fine as long as they provide you will value.  If playing games helps you to unwind from a long day then please continue to do so but start off by deciding how much time you can spare in any day to do those types of activities and make a committment to time yourself so that minutes don’t turn into hours.   Spending time doing these types of activities is good as long as it is in moderation and does not conflict with your running list of things to do.

3.  Condense, condense, condense – Does you get hundreds of junk email every day?  I know I do which is why every so often I go through the junk and either block the email or “unsubscribe” from that email.  This will help cut down the emails coming in so I only have to deal with email that is meaningful to me.  If I don’t recognize the emails as having value, they get deleted without my reading it.

4.  Just because the phone rings, you don’t HAVE to answer it.  I have caller ID and if my phone rings while I am in the middle of doing something I will screen the call and let it go to voice mail unless it is important enough for me to stop what I am doing and pick it up.  Most of my family and friends know that I am like this so I am not offending anyone by doing so.  After I am done with my activity I will then call the person back so I can give them my undivided attention.

5.  Mail – I don’t read mail that doesn’t appear to have value to me which I why I sort my mail as soon as it comes in and anything that doesn’t have value gets trashed.  The rest of the mail gets sorted into bills that need to be paid or things that need to be read.  Catalogs get trashed (I shop online).  Following this method takes little effort and helps keep my house free from mail clutter and that helps with my mental clutter.

Happy De-cluttering

1 Response to "Mental Clutter"

You hit the nail on the head. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

