Organizing Your Home and Life

Tackle the Visible Clutter First

Posted on: June 29, 2009

I was on an organizing assignment this weekend at the home of a dear friend.  She has some organizing issues and asked me to come in and help her out.  This was pretty exciting for me as this is really my passion.

As I was evaluating her issues, I saw the piles of clutter that had built up around her home over the years.  I saw the potential to get rid of at least 50% of the stuff that had accumulated.  I saw plenty of potential storage space that even she hadn’t seen but to my own trained eye it was out there and waiting for someone to utilize.  But I resisted to look in the potential storage space. Why?

Because part of the strategy to clearing out your clutter and organizing it is going through the clutter first and sorting it all out into keep, toss, give away.  It’s important to do this exercise first because at the end  you will probably have a fraction of the clutter in the “keep” pile.  After you have thrown or given your stuff away, then you can concentrate on sorting or organizing the “keep” stuff.

Organizing the clutter in this fashion makes perfect sense but can be forgotten because it is much more exciting to buy beautiful new storage containers and look to see what the end result might be before we make our way through the mess. Don’t fall into this trap. 

Tackle your visible clutter first.

Leave a Reply

