Organizing Your Home and Life

Purse Organizer

Posted on: August 24, 2009

The other day I was in the mall and happened to walk by the Coach store.  If you are female then you know exactly what store I am talking about…where they sell the most ridiculously expensive purses, shoes, sunglasses, and anything else with the “C” logo and checkerboard plaid patterns.  The purses can cost up to hundreds of dollars.

It got me to thinking and talking about whether or not I would spend that much for a purse.  First of all, I won’t be making that kind of decision any time soon. With the expense of paying for both of my boys to go to Catholic school, saving for their college in a couple of years, and all other expenses that come with raising 4 children, I won’t be worrying about a $300 purse.

But I did think about what I would do IF I happened to have that kind of spare cash hanging around.  My conclusion is that if the purse really improved the quality of my life and if the purse was designed to last through the torture I put the rest of my other purses through then it might be worth it.  I cannot tell you how many times during the day that my cell phone gets lost in the black hole.  It’s so frustrating.  The phone rings inside my purse and then I start to look for it. It has fallen to the bottom so I have to take out my wallet.  After I take out my wallet I usually have to take out at least 5 other items in order to get to the bottom of the purse.  By the time I get to my cell phone, it is no longer ringing and has now gone to voice mail. SO FRUSTRATING!  And I am organized!  So I cannot blame it on my disorganization.  It’s just the poor functionality of my purse.

I want to come up with a solution to this problem and it needs to be an inexpensive solution.  Remember, I am not going to be in the Coach store anytime soon.  I have researched some organizers on the internet and have come up with one that seems to be very popular.  It’s called the Pursetek and you may have seen them on infomercials.  But does it really work? 

I think I might have to order one and try it out and let you know.  Do you all keep your purse organized and if so, what are some of your methods?

3 Responses to "Purse Organizer"

I do agree that Coach is ridiculously expensive for lots of people. But Louis Vuitton and Chanel are even more expensive. Compare those purses to Coach, Coach is insanely cheap. As a Coach fanatic, even I cannot bring to drop 1k on a LV bag or 3k on a Chanel. But Coach purses are designed so well and are made to last a lifetime.

And I so understand your pain when you have to dig for the cell when it is ringing. I have some canvas bags that I use in the summer and it takes forever to find the cell. I suggest finding a bag with outside pockets. It will be easier to find the cell if you put it in one of those pockets.

Oh, before you start bashing me, my Coach bags are made of leather, not the fabric adorned with the C’s. I think those C’s make it look tacky.

Hey Caty, Thanks for leaving a comment. Yeah you are right..some of the leather coach purses are quite beautiful without being the cloth plaid ones that seem to be so common. I am in search for a good organizing system for my purse too. Thanks again for following!

I have tried a version of the purse oragnizer, and I like it, I really like it.
If you are a sewer, google purse organizer and you should get several turorials to sew your own.
I’m also a fan of bags with build in function. That’s my favorite option! Vera Bradley makes some wonderfully organized bags at decent prices. HTH

Leave a Reply

