Organizing Your Home and Life

Organizing My Tragedy

Posted on: October 27, 2009

Last week I blogged about my dad who was painfully taken from us a few weeks ago.  I do get overcome sometimes with grief and I know that is a normal part of the process.  Yesterday a rep from a hospital where my dad was once a patient called my house to ask how to get in touch with my dad. She was planning a reunion and wanted to invite him to come. I had to share with her our painful news.  It stung to have to repeat it and sometimes I feel for the person on the other end of the phone who really doesn’t know what to say.  So I just talked soothingly and reassured her that I was ok and that things would be alright.

Over these past several days I have found myself migrating to my dad’s condo to clean up and clean it out.  To others it might seem like work but to me it doesn’t.  I find myself cleaning and dusting and boxing up things and it doesn’t make me sad.  It doesn’t make me tired.  In fact it does just the opposite.  It makes me feel like I am taking care of my mom and dad’s things in a respectful manner the way I feel they deserved to have their things treated. 

I love to organize and it is my passion and being able to organize and declutter my parent’s condo for the eventual sale is something I cherish.  It’s something I feel I am doing as my last bit of service to my parents who gave so much of themselves to get me to where I am today.

As I organize and clean up and clean out, I learn about myself and I talk to my dad because in my heart he hears me and I feel better for it.  This is all a process but one that I am glad to do for my dear ole’ dad.

Leave a Reply

